

## Distinguished Texan in Agriculture Award Recipients

- 1993 Mr. John B. Armstrong, Former Corporate Director, King Ranch, Inc.
- 1994 Mr. Dolph Briscoe, Jr., Former Texas Governor
- 1995 Mr. L. Don Anderson, Distinguished Cotton Leader
- **1996 Senator William "Bill" Sims**, Former Executive Director, Texas Sheep and Goat Raisers Association
- **1997** Mrs. Mary Nan West, Rancher and avid agricultural leader and supporter Mr. Paul F. Engler, Co-Founder and CEO of Cactus Feeders Inc.
- **1998** Mr. J.D. Sartwelle, Sr., Leader in Cattle Marketing Industry/Chairman, Port City Stockyards, Inc. Mr. S.M. True, Jr., Former President, Texas Farm Bureau
- 1999 Mr. Lonnie A. "Bo" Pilgrim, Senior Chairman of the Board, Pilgrim's Pride Corporation
- 2000 No Award
- 2001 Congressman Kika de la Garza, Former Member, U.S. House of Representatives
- 2002 No Award
- **2003** Wayne A. Showers, Former Member of the Texas A&M University System Board of Regents and South Texas agricultural business leader
- 2004 No Award
- 2005 Mr. Tobin Armstrong [posthumous], Texas Cattleman and agricultural leader
- 2006 Mr. Howard Kruse, Blue Bell Creameries Mr. Ed. F. Kruse, Blue Bell Creameries Congressman Charlie Stenholm, Former Member, U.S. House of Representatives
- 2007 William (Bill) T. Lovelady, Cotton Producer Richard McDonald, Texas Cattle Feeders Association
- 2008 Mr. Kenneth E. Horton, Texas Pork Producers Association Mr. Bob Stallman, American Farm Bureau Federation
- **2009** Dr. Norman E. Borlaug [posthumous], Norman E. Borlaug Institute for International Agriculture/Nobel Peace Prize Winner
- 2010 Representative David A. Swinford, Former Texas House of Representatives and Agribusiness Operator
- 2011 Mr. Ross Wilson, Texas Cattle Feeders Association

- 2012 Mr. Jerry Harris, King-Mesa, Inc./Agricultural Leader/Businessman/Civic Leader Mr. E.M. "Manny" Rosenthal [posthumous], Standard Meat Company, agricultural leader, AFS Distinguished Alumnus of which Rosenthal Meat Science Center was named. Representative Bob Turner, Former Member, Texas House of Representatives
- 2013 Dr. Charles W. "Doc" Graham, Graham Land and Cattle/Agricultural Leader/Businessman Mr. Pierce Miller, VIP Livestock Co./Agricultural Leader/Businessman